Living and volunteering in Cusco

Two weeks ago I came back from the jungle and even it was such a great experience, I enjoy really the city life: eating and drinking whenever and whatever I want, going out, hanging out with people I like, comfortable bed, warm water to shower etc.

I’m healthy again and ventured a lot in the last days (alone and with my „NGO-family“): going out for dinners (I tried Alpaca-Burger, super yummie!), parties, concert, doing a free walking tour, having ice-cream, coffee, enjoying the sun, beers, red wine (thanks Kati for our great evenings!!), cocktails etc.

 

We had a German Night, where I prepared a real Swabian potato salad and fish. Of course I spent as well a lot of money in some RITTER SPORT chocolate (sometimes you need something from home) and last Sunday I baked my popular RED WINE CAKE and made everybody very happy. :-)

 

This sounds like holiday and lots of fun! It is definitively a lot of fun, but of course I’m here as well for my volunteer work - being a teacher in Nutrition combined with some English and German lessons for the kids between 7 and 11 years (Primaria). The private school is opposite of our apartment called „Colegio de San Agustin“.

 

The kids are completely different to the ones in the jungle. They have a higher level of education and are more motivated. They are nice and hugging me all the time, they never address you with your name, everybody is „profe“ (teacher), they are smiling a lot - but there is no respect against the (female!) teachers (and even less against me). After two very tough and tiring days, Eli and myself talked again to the directors and the other days were super cool. The teachers were nice and supported me in keeping the pupils silent and concentrated. I taught them some fruits in English and German and prepared a tasting of these fruits. The older ones learnt the basic tastes (sweet, salty, sour, bitter - umami I left out ^^) - and as well the words in English and German and of course I prepared tasting here, too.

 

I’m surprised how interested they are in the German language and as well in Germany in general („How long was your flight? - Can you travel by bus to Germany, too? - What is the history of Germany? - What means „DANKE“ (and many other words) in German? - OR my `favorite` question which came up in every class: What is the German word POKEMON GO?“ *ugh* This f***ing game unfortunately is a super trend here, too).

 

Today we have a public holiday in Peru (Santa Rosa de Peru), so I’m preparing my lessons for this week: vegetable tasting and teaching them the words on a nice working sheet, discussing their homework (food dairy for 2 days, exited if they’ve done it), giving lessons to parents twice about nutrition and health, preparing the two cooking classes for next week and do a trial of the dish (Quinoa with veggies) for my NGO Taxi group.

 

Our group here is changing all the time, but the people are nice and friendly, as well super divers which keeps it very interesting!! 

 

Super experience, super fun, lots of work, new friends, happy and sad moments, good food and drinks, rain - thunderstorm - sun, challenges, planning…

 

On 9th of September I will leave the lovely city of Cusco, finishing my volunteer work and start my next big adventure - to travel alone to……….ECUADOR calling!!! :-)

 

I miss you guys at home, but I’m very happy here with everything and I have no regrets of any of my decisions I did in the last months! <3 <3 <3

 

 

Yesterday I had one of these breathtaking moments: sitting in one of these small city buses with locals only, the sun was setting down, the city lights turned on and I just felt all right with everything around me…