Ecuador - ama la vida

Just here for few days, but already in love with this lovely country. 

 

The trip started with a delayed flight, from Cusco to Lima, running to the connection flight to Quito, comfortable seats with enough space for my legs and a taxi drive to my host of couch surfing. 

 

Unfortunately I didn’t feel comfortable there at all, so I quickly packed my monster backpack again the next morning and moved directly into a hostel in the district Mariscal - one of the many city centers of Quito. Immediately I felt like the happiest person on earth and my enjoyable time in Quito started. :-)

 

Quito is the highest capital on earth with an altitude of 2850m above sea level and has around 1.5 million habitants. The city is like a long tube with many districts - the important ones are Mariscal (to go out), old town (market, churches etc.) and new town (parks, museums etc.).

 

After settling down in my hostel (Vibes), I walked around a bit and indulged myself a beer and a „Bratwurst“ in a German brewery just around the corner. Later I met my room mates (Vanessa from Canada, Tanisha from Germany and Caroline from the states) and we went out together with the hostel owner and an other traveller in the hostel for dinner and later to party. It was a great night with many free drinks. 

 

On Sunday I decided with he girls to visit „Mitad del Mundo“ (0`0`0`, middle of the earth/the equator). On the way there we met two girls from Guayaquil and we had an other wonderful day together. As well we did a short visit at the crater Pululahua - interesting, as the clouds are changing from all foggy to all visible and again all foggy. We finished the day with sauna in the hostel and a small dinner.

 

Unfortunately I’m very good in getting to know people who are leaving the day after, so on Monday I decided to go alone to Otavalo - the big and famous market around three hours away fro Cusco (3 different busses). I enjoyed walking around there and trade a bit (bought I nice handbag and a finger ring). Afterwards I decided to walk to the waterfall, 3,5km away. The way there was a bit scary, as there were no other tourists at all. But the small nature reserve was worth it. The way back a friendly couple (she from Barcelona, he from Quito, living in Australia and doing a roadtrip in South America) took me with their car back to the city directly to the bus terminal. 

 

Tuesday I wanted to take the cable car up to the Teleferico (the mountain next to the city), but it was very cloudy, so I decided spontaneously to join the free walking tour in the old town. This was a very cool experience - I learnt a lot about the city, the food, the market hall and met some nice people. With Alicia from Switzerland I went back to the market, trying some typical food (Yaguarlocro - clear potato soup with meat, sheep blood, avocado, onions and tomato - delicious!) and blackberry juice (Mora - „you were not in Ecuador if you haven’t tried this“). Afterwards we went to a handcraft market and joined the pasta night at the hostel.

 

Today was a hard day - getting up at 6am to join the Cotopaxi tour (it is a high volcano, 5897m, refuge is 4800m). Unfortunately (or fortunately?!) we came into a big snow storm with some thunderstorm, so it was only possible to get with the van up to 4200m, walking down a bit, having some snowball fights, driving some more meters below the snowfall border and down hilling on that old mountain bikes till a lagoon. We had some time to relax while the guides stored the bikes back on the van and a strong rain started. I shared my „RITTER SPORT Vollnuss“ with Caroline (from Texas) and Simon (from Switzerland) before we drove back - lunch stop included - to Quito, where I enjoyed some beers and margaritas in the German brewery with these two lovely guys. Thanks for that day!

 

After a warm shower and dinner (falafel from around the corner) with some guys from the hostel I’m relaxing now in the hostel, sorting out my pics, writing, thinking, drinking and sharing my experiences with you. :-)

 

Tomorrow I will give another chance to the weather and the Teleferico - meeting up with a German couple I got to know on the free walking tour yesterday. And then looking forward to the night - going out with one of my „NGO sisters“ Kati! :-)

 

 

Until the next time - much LOVE to all!!!