From the biggest city into the middle of nowhere

As expected, I got good Cappuccino in „Sweet&Coffee“ (South American Starbucks) and enjoyed delicious Seafood in the restaurant „La Culata“ with 2 Dutch girls I met one day in my hostel. But these were already the highlights of Guayaquil. It is a big city with few nice spot I’ve visited: the lighthouse surrounded by colourful houses, walking along the Malecón, the small Parque de Iguanas, Isla Santay - an Island w/o cars where an old community is living and where you can see nice butterflies, crocodiles and other animals and Parque Historico - where the city started to grow). There is as well a rich part in the North - like a fake US-American city - where I walked through in the first night together with the 2 girls from Guayaquil I met on an intercultural exchange via Couchsurfing. Interesting…

The bad thing in that monster city is, that I felt very unsafe and as well I couldn’t walk10m without getting weird noises from men, which made me feel very uncomfortable. One day waiting for my boat for the cruise on the river a guy on the bench close by packed out his penis through a hole in his pants and moved sitting very weird. I’m just wondering if the lady I’ve told it really called a guard, because happily my boat left then. 

And as always on this trip, every afternoon I met some girls in my room (w/o windows, bad air and beds to get sea sick ^^), all leaving the next morning to their next destination. But at least I had someone for dinner - yesss!!

 

 

Since yesterday I’m enjoying now the safety and the silence of the nature in the „Berlín Eco Farm & Hostel“, 8km outside of Jipijapa, where I do a workaway (helping with cacao plants and in the hostel) for free accommodation for few days. Warm climate, few people and many animals are around me - as well the typical South American romantic music on high volume! Still not sure how long I will stay here, as I got a bit the solo-travel-blues… Next stop will be Montanita - on the beach….FINALLY!!! :-)