EMOTIONS EMOTIONS EMOTIONS

I had a wonderful time in the hostel resort „Izhcayluma“. I relaxed with another full body massage, did few smaller and bigger hikes (Mandango mountain with a bigger group - there were some dangerous spots on the way, Chaupi Loop with Dori - we missed the correct way down and had to pass some cows in the middle of the path, San José Trail with Dori - again meeting cows on our path ^^ and some puppies <3 ). As all this plus the 1,5h morning yoga is not enough for me (*haha*), I tried AIR YOGA on Saturday afternoon. What a great experience! It is super exhausting (especially if you don’t practice any sports for 3 months), sometimes you have the feeling to get sick, but then just breath, hold on and enjoy! :-) On 8th of October Ecuador is celebrating the Virgen Fatima, we joined the party opposite of the hostel - crazy fireworks, shows, crazy music from the famous (?!?) Cristian Colón, dance, many drunken people…FUN!!

 

But then it was time to say goodbye, probably my saddest goodbye on my journey - back to a backpacking life where you are alone, have to organize yourself, look for food and drinks, plan the bus trips, the hostels… But on the other hand it was good to leave and step outside of this „perfect bubble“ - off to new adventures! Many thanks to all I spent my time with - you are amazing!

 

And yes, I already got my new adventure. Today was definitively one of the most emotional and overwhelming days of my life. After 5 years sponsorship with „Plan International“ and several letters with my goddaughter Rosa - I finally had the chance to visit her and her family!

 

I arrived in Piura/Peru after an 8h over night bus ride from Loja/Ecuador - including border crossing and filling the passport with new stamps. It felt a bit like coming home… Happily I could directly check in my hostel (single room with bathroom for 2 nights - you can get happy with simple things), take a shower and a nap. Afterwards I walked around in the city and went for a delicious lunch in the Peruvian restaurant „La Tomasita“ (recommendation of the hostel, bit more expensive but worth it!), followed by a great ice-cream (yes, they had chocolate!), which I enjoyed while sitting at Plaza de Armas, watching people and talking to a Peruvian lady sitting next to me. The evening I spent in my single room with some snacks, television (football: Peru lost against Chile) and was falling asleep at 9pm. 

 

This morning at 9am I was picked up by a lady of the organization Plan International and we drove (pick-up with driver for the whole day) to the office in Piura. After explaining me everything, we drove to the village where the project was working for the last 21 years and where Rosa is living and going to school. First we met with the guys from the municipality in the town hall and I got a great insight of where the donations are going in (health, water…). I felt so important sitting with 8 Peruvian guys and the 2 coordination ladies from Plan at a long meeting table and getting a lot of thanks, as well in form of a medal and a sombrero/straw hat. Afterwards we drove to the secondary school (Rosa is 13 years old and visiting the 2° grade there). This moment was absolutely breathtaking and overwhelming (I lost some tears), I met Rosa and they prepared a ceremony only for myself, with a warm welcome on the wall („Bienvenida, Miss Wolf“), music of brass instruments, a live singer, dancing, acceptance speeches of the director***, Rosa and other people from the school (I could say some words, too) and again a present (beautiful and typical drawing of the art teacher). During most of my sponsorship Rosa visited the primary school, which we visited as well to see where my money went to (colorful buildings, classrooms, teaching things…) and I received again a lot of thankful words. Then it was time to visit the home of Rosa and her family (her mum passed away this March, so the family is still very sad which I can understand too well). The entrance was decorated with German flags and welcome posters - sooo lovely!! They (dad and 4 kids) are living in a small clay house with only two bedrooms (the 2 girls and the 2 boys share one), a further bed is in the corridor. The family has support from their grandma and aunt for cooking and household - the lunch was delicious (chicken, pasta with tomato, banana, purple potato). Unfortunately I forgot the name of this dish, but this is typical for events like christmas, too. With a short stop in the city of Catacaos (many handmade things are sold in the streets) I was brought back to my hostel. *wooow*

 

All people out there, if you want to donate and help somewhere where it is really needed, I would highly recommend Plan International. I will definitively support them in the future! :-) 

https://plan-international.org/ 

 

Tomorrow morning I take the bus to Huanchaco - a small surfers paradise close to Trujillo. Maybe the luck is on my side this time and I can take some surf lessons, as I already wanted to in Montanita…

 

“Always give without remembering and always receive without forgetting.” (Brian Tracy)

 

 

 

***remark for my mum: Die Direktorin hat sich nicht nur bei mir bedankt, sondern auch bei dir und Papa, dass ihr so was tolles aus mir gemacht habt. DANKE! :-)