SURFING PERU

Friends, I can’t believe how fast time is running… Just 5 days ago I arrived after an 8h bus ride (including breakfast, drinks and a big lunch - ittsa bus) through the desert in Huanchaco and tonight it is already time to say goodbye to that lovely beach town and the nice hostel I’ve stayed in - FROGS Surf- and Chillhouse. I met again few people I knew from Vilcabamba/Ecuador and made new friends, too. I had a great mixture of relaxing and adventurous time here - always combined with a lot of sun and the sound of the waves (like now, sitting, writing, watching and hearing the sea and listening to some guitar music from other guests). 

 

I did morning and sundowner yoga with ocean-view, I visited Chan Chan (which means sun sun - ruins a huge pre-inka city, pictures and few words about it you can find on Facebook), I ate a lot of delicious ceviche for lunch (they say Huanchaco is the birthplace of ceviche - a Peruvian dish of raw fish/seafood, „cooked“ in lime juice together with onions, chili, yuca, choclo and potato) and warm apple pie with vanilla ice-cream (almost as good as from mum), I enjoyed nice conversations while having some beers/longdrinks of the rooftop of the hostel, watched several sunsets and - YES - I finally surfed the first time of my life! Sorry, Montanita friends, the Peruvian weather was more friendly to me… It was so much fun, exhausting for the muscles, painful for the feet (next time I want to have the ground of sand) but I’m already looking forward to the next possibility I can do it! :-)

 

I want to share as well some bad things that happened:

  • several times some food „disappeared“ from the hostel kitchen - although everything is labeled with name
  • I had to pay for damages which couldn’t be me on the rental surfboard of the first surf school I’ve been - afterwards I changed to another one which was super cool
  • my only important and expensive piece of clothes - my black fleece jacket - „disappeared“ out of my dorm, too - super annoying, but at least more space in my monster backpack

 

This is the word, the monster is almost packed, I will enjoy some more moments on the beach with sand between my toes before I take a shower, fill up the monster, eat my leftover food from yesterday (if it is still in the fridge) and then take a taxi to the bus terminal - heading down to Lima! 

 

So sad to leave this wonderful place, but looking forward to Lima and to visiting a friends friend and maybe meeting as well a German sports friend from Heilbronn. 

 

Hear you soon… :-***

 

BESOS Y ABRAZOS DE PERU